Skip to Main Content

Intermediate Senior History

Survivor Memoirs

Jewish Survivors of the Holocaust
"These recordings are powerful personal accounts of the Holocaust from Jewish survivors living in Britain. The interviews were selected from a much larger oral history project, the Living Memory of the Jewish Community, which recorded testimony between 1988-2000.

Azrieli Series of Holocaust Survivor Memoirs
Many memoirs by Holocaust survivors, available free to students, teachers, and post-secondary instructors. Many of the memoirs are available in English and/or French.

Holocaust Survivors
Listen to survivor stories and scan the accompanying photograph collections.

Holocaust Collections

United States Holocaust Museum
The site describes the museum as "a living memorial to the Holocaust" and has resources related to education, research, history, remembrance, and genocide. Includes the Holocaust Encyclopedia.

Yad Vashem: Education
Focuses on four primary areas in providing an ongoing memorial to the Holocaust: documentation, research, education, and commemoration. The education section of their website includes lesson plans, educational videos, articles on key historical concepts, and a free introductory course on the Holocaust. They also have a free photograph collection.

Teacher Resources

A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust
The site describes itself as "an overview of the people and events of the Holocaust through photographs, documents, art, music, movies, and literature." The resources are geared primarily for the teacher and include:
Documents: primary source materials.
High school lesson plans: a collection of lessons covering social studies, arts, language arts, ethics and responsibilities, and research and thinking skills.
Movies: short movies of survivor testimony, Kristallnacht, ghettos, transports, camps, and other Holocaust themes.
Galleries: over 3000 photographs, drawings, and paintings grouped into thematic galleries.
Music: a collection of music files appropriate to a study of the Holocaust.
Plays: an annotated list of education plays, as well as access to full scripts of selected plays.
Maps
Timeline
Quizzes: interactive quizzes.

Websites

Holocaust Timeline
A timeline from 1933 to 1961, detailing the events leading up to, during, and following the Holocaust.

Nazism
A collection of primary sources, from the Internet Modern History Sourcebook.

Holocaust
A collection of primary sources, from the Internet Modern History Sourcebook.

Nazi and East German Propaganda Guide Page
Essays, posters, speeches, and other forms of propaganda from the Third Reich and East Germany.

Nazi Germany (1933-1945)
Documents and images from Nazi Germany.