Skip to Main Content

Intermediate Senior History

Lesson Plans

The Rise and Fall of the Mongol Empire
From TedEd, this includes a short video, discussion questions, and a few open answer and multiple choice questions.

The Path of the Black Death
This lesson plan on the Black Death includes activities, assessments, and guiding questions. It also includes maps for context.

Mesoamerica and South America
This collection of videos includes a teaching guide and some interactive lessons on Mesoamerica and South America.

History vs. Vladimir Lenin
From TedEd, this lesson plan includes a short video, multiple choice and open answer questions, and discussion questions.

Teaching the Vietnam War
From PBS, this website includes lesson plans and videos to help students gain a deeper understanding of the Vietnam War.

The History of the Cuban Missile Crisis
From TedEd, this lesson plan includes a short video on the Cuban Missile Crisis, multiple choice questions and open answer questions, and discussion questions.

Primary Sources

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
From Fordham University, this resource contains thousands of texts from ancient history.

Internet Medieval Sourcebook
From Fordham University, this resource contains thousands of texts from the medieval era.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook
From Fordham University, this resource contains thousands of texts from the modern era.

Frontier Life
This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and Indigenous peoples in these areas.
Clicking on the Document Type tab will reveal the variety of primary sources available to search.

Perseus Digital Library
From Tufts University, this digital library contains many primary source materials.

EuroDocs
Western European primary historical documents.

Gallica: Digital Library of the National Library of France
80 000 images and books, manuscripts, maps, periodicals, scores, and sound recordings.

Other Resources

Weimar Republic
A large collection of videos, playlists, lesson plans, and other materials on the Weimar Republic. From Facing History & Ourselves.

Video

Curio
CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots, and more. To take advantage of campus features (such as creating playlists) you will need to create an account.

National Film Board
Over 1000 films are available free, 3000 available with an account. Also includes teaching guides. To take advantage of campus features such as creating playlists and chapters, you will need to create a profile.

Films on Demand
Humanities and Social Sciences video collections.

Criterion on Demand
A large English and French streaming or download service with option of closed captioning.

On-Core
A collection of Canadian video segments that is searchable by provincial curriculum subjects, grades, and strands. Includes PDF teacher guides when available, and content is downloadable.