Index of digitized heritage collections from across Canada. Managed by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network (CRKN) and supported by Library and Archives Canada (LAC), CNDHI increases awareness of and access to digital heritage collections in Canada.
Students and teachers use primary documents to solve long-standing mysteries and cold cases from Canadian history. Each mystery includes a variety of lesson plans and scalable levels of student engagement.
This collection of primary sources and teaching links pulls together online archives, websites and databases of primary sources about a wide range of topics in Canadian history. Linked resources cover both general history (including a selection of historic maps) and subject-specific topics, ranging from regional settlements and Indigenous affairs to politics and studies of social issues.
"The historical thinking framework promoted by The Historical Thinking Project revolves around six historical thinking concepts: historical significance, cause and consequence, historical perspective-taking, continuity and change, the use of primary source evidence, and the ethical dimension of history." website
This collection, created by Library and Archives Canada, features Canadian recordings from 1900-1950. The site also features educational resources for teachers, including suggestions for classroom activities tied to the studies of history and of music.
Find resources to engage with the ROM’s collections before, during, and after your museum visit. Whether you’re visiting with a school group, researching a project, or looking for fun games and activities to enjoy, there’s something here for everyone! Share your students' projects, questions, and museum visits with us. #ROMLearning
Includes Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938, Votes for Women’s Suffrage Pictures, Civil War Maps and photography, World War II Military Situation Maps among many.
Digital Library of the National Library of France providing access to any type of document: printed documents (books, press and magazines) in image and text mode, manuscripts, sound and iconographic documents, maps and plans.
Gallica is intended to all readers, whether users just having a look, booklovers, students or academics.
SHEG sponsors an ongoing research group for students across the university interested in issues of how history is taught and learned. - "Our lessons and assessments are available for free download once you've created an account." website
The Europeana website provides cultural heritage enthusiasts, professionals, teachers, and researchers with access to Europe's digital cultural heritage. Why? To inspire and inform fresh perspectives and open conversations about our history and culture. To share and enjoy our rich cultural heritage. To use it to create new things.
Europeana give users access to millions of items from providing institutions across Europe. Discover artworks, books, music, and videos on art, newspapers, archaeology, fashion, science, sport, and much more.