Skip to Main Content

Intermediate Senior History

Lesson Plans

Roman Empire
Lesson plans on the Roman Empire, suitable for grades 6-12.

Mesoamerica and South America
This collection of videos includes a teaching guide and some interactive lessons on Mesoamerica and South America.

The Path of the Black Death
This lesson plan on the Black Death includes activities, assessments, and guiding questions. It also includes maps for context.

The Rise and Fall of the Mongol Empire
From TedEd, this includes a short video, discussion questions, and a few open answer and multiple choice questions.

Magna Carta Teacher's Resources
From the National Archives in the UK, these downloadable lessons include PowerPoint presentations, teacher's notes, and other classroom materials.

Primary Sources

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
From Fordham University, this open access sourcebook contains thousands of texts from ancient history. 

Internet Medieval Sourcebook
From Fordham University, this open access sourcebook contains thousands of texts from the medieval era.

Perseus Digital Library
From Tufts University, this digital library contains many primary source materials.

Library of Congress Alcove 9
The 9th alcove of the Main Reading Room of the Library of Congress (the "virtual alcove") contains a selection of websites chosen by their Humanities and Social Sciences Division specialists. Every website listed includes free components, though a few have fee-based components as well.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae: A Digital Library of Greek Literature
Publication Coverage: From Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1435.
The TGL digital library contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century BC) and AD 600, and a large number to texts deriving from the period between AD 600 and 1453. Topics include Greek literature, history, and culture.
Requires Queen's NetID.

Other Resources

TVO Learn
Designed by education professionals, this course is intended for student-directed learning at home, but contains many resources that may still be useful in the classroom. It can also be recommended to students to help gain further understanding of the topics covered. 

Video

Curio
CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots, and more. To take advantage of campus features (such as creating playlists) you will need to create an account.

National Film Board
Over 1000 films are available free, 3000 available with an account. Also includes teaching guides. To take advantage of campus features such as creating playlists and chapters, you will need to create a profile.

Films on Demand
Humanities and Social Sciences video collections.

Criterion on Demand
A large English and French streaming or download service with option of closed captioning.

On-Core
A collection of Canadian video segments that is searchable by provincial curriculum subjects, grades, and strands. Includes PDF teacher guides when available, and content is downloadable.