Becoming an Outstanding History Teacher by
Becoming an Outstanding History Teacher will take the practitioner through the process of improving their practice from start to finish. It offers a wide range of approaches and techniques for teaching and learning that will help to keep students stimulated and engaged when studying history. With history regularly topping public polls of important school subjects and among the most popular subjects to be studied at GCSE, this book considers the components which make an outstanding history teacher and how best to ensure students are motivated and maximise their potential. Focusing on all aspects of teaching history, it provides a step-by-step discussion of the development of lessons and covers a wealth of topics, including: long-, medium-, and short-term planning the classroom environment managing all student abilities dealing with interpretations and sources arranging history fieldwork formative and summative assessment setting meaningful and effective homework. Packed full of tried-and-tested strategies and activities that are easy to implement, this is essential reading for both newly qualified and experienced history teachers who want to ensure outstanding teaching and learning in their classrooms.
Developing Historical Thinkers by
This practical book addresses the consistent questions that were posed by secondary social studies teachers during professional learning sessions. In particular, it examines ways to break through the inclination and perception expressed by many teachers that "my kids cannot do that." Drawing on 22 years as a high school history teacher, 7 years as a state level curriculum specialist, and extensive work with in-service teachers across the country, the author provides research-based guidance for engaging students in investigating the past. Lesh examines ways to develop effective questions that guide historical inquires, how to utilize discussion in the classroom, and how to align assessment to inquiry. He also shows teachers how to incorporate difficult histories within an inquiry framework. Each chapter uses a specific lesson, framed by student work, to illuminate approaches in real classroom scenarios. Topics include The Pullman Strike of 1894, the Marcus Garvey question, Dust Bowl Migrants, Mao and Communist China, the LGBTQ+ fight for rights, and multiple lessons from World War I. This follow-up to the author's book "Why Won't You Just Tell Us the Answer?" fills in gaps and expands tools and classroom examples to assist today's teachers. Book Features: Offers ways to promote teacher growth as it pertains to historical thinking. Demonstrates how to align investigating the past with the needs of reluctant readers and students with special needs. Provides lesson materials and instructional guidance. Addresses how to teach difficult subjects, such as LGBTQ+ history. Aligns historical literacy with inquiry-based instruction.
Secondary Starters and Plenaries: History by
This book provides history teachers with 50 cohesive suggestions for embedding and extending learning in the classroom- from individual to whole-class activities, and from the energetic to the sedate. Even better, every starter and plenary is easily-adaptable for the whole ability range of your class and ideas for extension and development keep each activity fresh. There are also PowerPoints, task sheets and other time-saving resources online. The book covers the whole spectrum of topics that every history teacher needs to cover. Some ideas involve students managing and monitoring each other; others involve creative thinking and where practical and appropriate, the content is embedded in the real world so that students can immediately see the wider application of their efforts. In the 'teacher's tips' section, the author offers guidance on how to deliver the idea to get the best results based on years of trial and error.
Teaching History by
A practical and engaging guide to the art of teaching history Well-grounded in scholarly literature and practical experience, Teaching History offers an instructors' guide for developing and teaching classroom history. Written in the author's engaging (and often humorous) style, the book discusses the challenges teachers encounter, explores effective teaching strategies, and offers insight for managing burgeoning technologies. William Caferro presents an assessment of the current debates on the study of history in a broad historical context and evaluates the changing role of the discipline in our increasingly globalized world. Teaching History reveals that the valuable skills of teaching are highly transferable. It stresses the importance of careful organization as well as the advantages of combining research agendas with teaching agendas. Inspired by the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning movement, the book encourages careful reflection on teaching methods and stresses the importance of applying various approaches to promote active learning. Drawing on the author's experience as an instructor at the high school and university levels, Teaching History: Contains an authoritative and humorous look at the profession and the strategies and techniques of teaching history Incorporates a review of the current teaching practice in terms of previous methods, examining nineteenth and twentieth century debates and strategies Includes a discussion of the use of technology in the history classroom, from the advent of course management (Blackboard) systems to today's digital resources Covers techniques for teaching the history of any nation not only American history Written for graduate and undergraduate students of history teaching and methods, historiography, history skills, and education, Teaching History is a comprehensive book that explores the strategies, challenges, and changes that have occurred in the profession.
Teaching History with Film by
Teaching History with Film provides a fresh, engaging, and clear overview of teaching with film to effectively enhance social studies instruction. Using cases of experienced teachers to illustrate accomplished history teaching through movies, this text provides pre- and in-service teachers with ideas for implementing film-based lessons in their own classrooms and offers a deeper understanding of the thorny issues involved in using film to teach history. The second edition is completely revised and updated including: two entirely new case studies; a new chapter focusing on using international film and incorporating a more global view in the classroom; and additional material on using film to tackle difficult and controversial issues; as well as updates to all of the cases. Each section of the book focuses on how teachers can effectively support the development of students' historical film literacy through topics such as using film to develop interpretive skills, to explore controversial issues, and to develop historical empathy. By developing the skills students need to think critically about the past or what they think they know about history, the lessons in this book illustrate how to harness the pedagogical power of film to provide the tools necessary for rigorous inquiry and democratic citizenship. Special features include: "Reflection on the Case," following each chapter, analyzing and discussing the strengths and limitations of the teacher's approach as well as providing strategies for using and choosing films specific to the educational outcome Sample unit outlines, descriptions of class texts and films, worksheets, essay questions, viewer guides, and exercises for the classroom throughout Discussion of the practical considerations facing classroom teachers, including juggling time restraints, issues of parental permission, and meeting standards
Through Their Eyes: A Graphic History of Hill 70 and Canada's First World War by
By the summer of 1917, Canadian troops had captured Vimy Ridge, but Allied offensives had stalled across many fronts of the Great War. To help break the stalemate of trench warfare, the Canadian Corps commander, Lieutenant-General Arthur Currie, was tasked with capturing Hill 70, a German stronghold near the French town of Lens.After securing the hill on 15 August, Canadian soldiers endured days of shelling, machine-gun fire, and poison gas as they repelled relentless enemy counterattacks. Through Their Eyes depicts this remarkable but costly victory in a unique way. With full-colour graphic artwork and detailed illustration, Matthew Barrett and Robert Engen picture the battle from different perspectives - Currie's strategic view at high command, a junior officer's experience at the platoon level, and the vantage points of many lesser-known Canadian soldiers who made the ultimate sacrifice. This innovative graphic history invites readers to reimagine the First World War through the eyes of those who lived it and to think more deeply about how we visualize and remember the past.Combining outstanding original art and thought-provoking commentary, Through Their Eyes uncovers the fascinating stories behind this battle while creatively expanding the ways that history is shared and represented.
Using New Technologies to Enhance Teaching and Learning in History by
Nearly all history teachers are interested in how new technology might be used to improve teaching and learning in history. However, not all history departments have had the time, expertise and guidance which would enable them to fully explore the wide range of ways in which ICT might help them to teach their subject more effectively. This much-needed collection offers practical guidance and examples of the ways in which new technology can enhance pupil engagement in the subject, impact on knowledge retention, get pupils learning outside the history classroom, and help them to work collaboratively using a range of Web 2.0 applications. The chapters, written by experienced practitioners and experts in the field of history education and ICT, explore topics such as: how to design web interactivities for your pupils what can you accomplish with a wiki how to get going in digital video editing what to do with the VLE? making best use of the interactive whiteboard designing effective pupil webquests digital storytelling in history making full use of major history websites using social media. Using New Technologies to Enhance Teaching and Learning in History is essential reading for all trainee, newly qualified and experienced teachers of history. It addresses many of the problems, barriers and dangers which new technology can pose, but it also clearly explains and exemplifies the wide range of ways in which ICT can be used to radically improve the quality of pupils' experience of learning history.