Skip to Main Content

Intermediate Senior History

Lesson Plans

New Jersey's Quakers and the American Revolution
This lesson plan discusses the development of the anti-slavery stance of the Quakers.

Segregation: From Jim Crow to Linda Brown
From the Library of Congress, this lesson plan discusses the era of legal segregation in the United States.

Colonialism and Resistance
This lesson plan discusses colonialism and language. It specifically studies the Creole language of Mauritius, treating it as a colonial archive. It also includes other resources about the colonization of Africa.

Tsar Nicholas II and the Russian Revolution of 1917
From Active History, this includes worksheets and interactive activities about tsarist Russia and the Russian Revolution.

The Ming Dynasty
From the University of Kansas, this lesson plan discusses the Ming Dynasty and its impact.

Primary Sources

Internet Modern History Sourcebook
From Fordham University, this resource contains thousands of texts from the modern era.

US History Primary Source Timeline
From the Library of Congress, a collection of primary sources from the 1600s to 1968.

Documenting the American South
Government documents, personal diaries, religious pamphlets, books, some photographs, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

EuroDocs
Western European primary historical documents.

Gallica: Digital Library of the National Library of France
80 000 images and books, manuscripts, maps, periodicals, scores, and sound recordings.

United Nations History Project
Access to the UN Online Archives, as well as other resources.

German History in Documents and Images
Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. Original texts, with English translations.

Other Resources

Weimar Republic
A large collection of videos, playlists, lesson plans, and other materials on the Weimar Republic. From Facing History & Ourselves.

Video

Curio
CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots, and more. To take advantage of campus features (such as creating playlists) you will need to create an account.

National Film Board
Over 1000 films are available free, 3000 available with an account. Also includes teaching guides. To take advantage of campus features such as creating playlists and chapters, you will need to create a profile.

Films on Demand
Humanities and Social Sciences video collections.

Criterion on Demand
A large English and French streaming or download service with option of closed captioning.

On-Core
A collection of Canadian video segments that is searchable by provincial curriculum subjects, grades, and strands. Includes PDF teacher guides when available, and content is downloadable.