Skip to Main Content

Intermediate Senior History

Lesson Plans

Exploring the Building of the Panama Canal
Using a primary source set, these lesson plans discuss the building and significance of the Panama Canal.

History vs. Vladimir Lenin
From TedEd, this lesson plan includes a short video, multiple choice and open answer questions, and discussion questions.

The Great War: Evaluating the Treaty of Versailles
This lesson plan on the motives and consequences of the Treaty of Versailles includes lesson activities, assessment, and worksheets.

NATO 
From CBC Archives, this lesson plan is about Canada's participation in NATO. "Using a variety of web-based resources, students will research facts about Canada's participation in NATO and use them to create a trivia board game."

The Cold War
Downloadable classroom resources and discussion topics on the Cold War.

The Truman Doctrine
From the Truman Library, this lesson plan discusses the Truman Doctrine and the strategy of containment.

Primary Sources

American Memory
Historical collections for the US National Digital Library.

EuroDocs
Western European primary historical documents.

Gallica
Digital Library of the National Library of France.

Canadiana Online
This virtual library holds the most complete set of full-text historical content about Canada, including books, magazines, and government documents.

United Nations History Project
Access to the UN Online Archives, as well as other resources.

Gallica: Digital Library of the National Library of France
80 000 images and books, manuscripts, maps, periodicals, scores, and sound recordings.

German History in Documents and Images
Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. Original texts, with English translations.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook
From Fordham University, this resource includes thousands of texts from the modern era.

Other Resources

Weimar Republic
A large collection of videos, playlists, lesson plans, and other materials on the Weimar Republic. From Facing History & Ourselves.

Video

Curio
CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots, and more. To take advantage of campus features (such as creating playlists) you will need to create an account.

National Film Board
Over 1000 films are available free, 3000 available with an account. Also includes teaching guides. To take advantage of campus features such as creating playlists and chapters, you will need to create a profile.

Films on Demand
Humanities and Social Sciences video collections.

Criterion on Demand
A large English and French streaming or download service with option of closed captioning.

On-Core
A collection of Canadian video segments that is searchable by provincial curriculum subjects, grades, and strands. Includes PDF teacher guides when available, and content is downloadable.