Skip to Main Content

Intermediate Senior History

Lesson Plans

Teaching Guide: The Indian Act
This teaching guide includes a lesson plan, slideshow, audio for download, activity sheets, and an episode transcript. 

What was the October Crisis?
This lesson plan from CBC Digital Archives covers the October Crisis and the implementation of the War Measures Act. 

Censuses of Canada 1665 to 1871
From Statistics Canada, this resource includes lesson plans based off of censuses from 1665 to 1871. Lesson plans and specific timeframes can be found in the menu on the left.

Constitutional Discord: Meech Lake
From CBC Digital Archives, the purpose of this lesson is "to identify the events leading to the Meech Lake Constitutional Accord, and the reasons for its failure, its impact on Canadian history, government, politics, and society."

Primary Sources

Canadiana Online
This virtual library holds the most complete set of full-text historical content about Canada, including books, magazines, and government documents.

Queen's University Archives: Stones
Stones refers to the various cultural communities and human elements that form the foundations of Kingston.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook
From Fordham University, this resource includes thousands of texts from the modern era.

Frontier Life
This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and Indigenous peoples in these areas.
Clicking on the Document Type tab will reveal the variety of primary sources available to search.

Moving Here, Staying Here: The Canadian Immigrant Experience
Includes voyage diaries, letters, posters, printed advertisements and pamphlets, and passenger lists that document the experience of Canadian immigrants from the 1800s to 1930.

Archives of Ontario
The Archives of Ontario has both digital and physical resources that may be useful for the classroom.

Other Resources

Archives of Ontario Lesson Plans - Grade 12
All resource and lesson kits align with the Social Studies, History, and Canadian and World Studies curricula and emphasize the skills of historical inquiry, interpretation, and analysis.

TVO Learn
Designed by education professionals, this course is intended for student-directed learning at home, but contains many resources that may still be useful in the classroom. It can also be recommended to students to help gain further understanding of the topics covered.

For Teachers

Video

Curio
CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots, and more. To take advantage of campus features (such as creating playlists) you will need to create an account.

National Film Board
Over 1000 films are available free, 3000 available with an account. Also includes teaching guides. To take advantage of campus features such as creating playlists and chapters, you will need to create a profile.

Films on Demand
Humanities and Social Sciences video collections.

Criterion on Demand
A large English and French streaming or download service with option of closed captioning.

On-Core
A collection of Canadian video segments that is searchable by provincial curriculum subjects, grades, and strands. Includes PDF teacher guides when available, and content is downloadable.