Skip to Main Content

Intermediate Senior History

Primary Sources

Due to the open-ended nature of this course, we have chosen not to include lesson plans or detailed media. The resources listed below are archival materials and databases that can be used to find appropriate materials for the course.

Moving Here, Staying Here: The Canadian Immigrant Experience
Includes voyage diaries, letters, posters, printed advertisements and pamphlets, and passenger lists that document the experience of Canadian immigrants from 1800s-1930. 

Canadiana Online
This virtual library holds the most complete set of full-text historical content about Canada, including books, magazines, and government documents.

Queen's University Archives: Stones
Stones refers to the various cultural communities and human elements that form the foundations of Kingston.

Canada Year Book Historical Collection
Historical data from 1867-1967 with text, tables, charts and maps, and learning resources for both students and teachers.

Frontier Life
This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and Indigenous peoples in these areas.
Clicking on the Document Type tab will reveal the variety of primary sources available to search.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook
From Fordham University, this resource contains thousands of documents from the modern era.

Video

Curio
CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots, and more. To take advantage of campus features (such as creating playlists) you will need to create an account.

National Film Board
Over 1000 films are available free, 3000 available with an account. Also includes teaching guides. To take advantage of campus features such as creating playlists and chapters, you will need to create a profile.

Films on Demand
Humanities and Social Sciences video collections.

Criterion on Demand
A large English and French streaming or download service with option of closed captioning.

On-Core
A collection of Canadian video segments that is searchable by provincial curriculum subjects, grades, and strands. Includes PDF teacher guides when available, and content is downloadable.