Skip to Main Content

Intermediate Senior History

Lesson Plans

Watergate
From PBS, a 45-minute lesson plan on Watergate and the limits of presidential power.

Truman Doctrine
From the Truman Library, a lesson plan on the Truman Doctrine and the strategy of containment.

Teaching the Vietnam War
From PBS, this website includes lesson plans and videos to help students gain a deeper understanding of the Vietnam War.

Museum of the Moving Image: Presidential Candidates
An American site where you can view American presidential advertisements and create lesson plans around them.

Teaching the Civil War
A PBS Learning Media resource collection on the American Civil War including videos, lesson plans, images, and interactive activities.

Primary Source Set: The Wounded Knee Massacre
From PBS Learning Media, this primary source set includes a teaching guide.

Primary Source Set: Manifest Destiny
From PBS Learning Media, this primary source set includes a teaching guide to explore the ideas and influence of Manifest Destiny.

The History of the Cuban Missile Crisis
From TedEd, this lesson plan includes a short video on the Cuban Missile Crisis, multiple choice questions and open answer questions, and discussion questions.

Primary Sources

The Right to Vote
From the Library of Congress, this resource is a collection of primary sources on various groups gaining the right to vote in the United States. 

US History Primary Source Timeline
From the Library of Congress, a collection of primary sources from the 1600s to 1968.

New York Times 1851- (excluding latest two years)
Copies of the New York Times dating back to 1851.

The Times Digital Archive: 1785-1985
A searchable archive dating back to 1785.

Frontier Life
This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and Indigenous peoples in these areas.
Clicking on the Document Type tab will reveal the variety of primary sources available to search.

American Memory
Historical collections for the US National Digital Library.

War of 1812 Primary Source Collection
A collection of primary documents from Sam Houston State University.

WWII Poster Collection
From Northwestern University, more than 300 WWII-era posters issued by various US government agencies.

Documenting the American South
Government documents, personal diaries, religious pamphlets, books, some photographs, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. 

NYPL Digital Gallery
Open access to 700 000 images including manuscripts, posters, vintage posters, maps, photographs, and rare prints. 

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Document projects that include 1800 documents, approximately 740 images (photos and illustrations) and over 600 links to other websites.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook
From Fordham University, this resource contains thousands of documents from the modern era.

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment 
Contains over 1400 authors and over 100 000 pages of primary works such as letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts, as well as images of early encounters.

Other Resources

Freedom Riders: American Experience
A collection of videos from PBS, discussing the Freedom Riders.

For Teachers

Video

Curio
CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots, and more. To take advantage of campus features (such as creating playlists) you will need to create an account.

National Film Board
Over 1000 films are available free, 3000 available with an account. Also includes teaching guides. To take advantage of campus features such as creating playlists and chapters, you will need to create a profile.

Films on Demand
Humanities and Social Sciences video collections.

Criterion on Demand
A large English and French streaming or download service with option of closed captioning.

On-Core
A collection of Canadian video segments that is searchable by provincial curriculum subjects, grades, and strands. Includes PDF teacher guides when available, and content is downloadable.