Skip to Main Content

Primary Junior Science & Technology Teacher Resources

Classroom and teacher resources for 1-6.

PJ Education Librarian

Profile Photo
Brenda Reed
Contact:
brenda.reed@queensu.ca
613-533-6000 x 77644
Subjects: Education

Lesson Plans for K-6 Science

We support your Science teaching with:

  • information & activity books for K-6 in the Children's Book collection
  • picture books & novels to introduce and enrich the science topics you are exploring
  • science lessons written for the Ontario curriculum
  • science textbooks used in Ontario K-6 classrooms with their teacher guides
  • hands-on kits to support your classroom activities
  • access to the top professional journals for K-6 Science teachers
  • DVDs and online video selected for their visualization of K-6 science concepts & topics

Science Teacher Associations

The access information you need is available from your Education Password Page. If you need a reminder of the password for the guide, just use your Queen's email address to email Brenda, your PJ teacher librarian. STAO includes content for French as a Second Language learners.

The access information you need is available from your Education Password Page. If you need a reminder of the password for the guide, just use your Queen's email address to email Brenda, your PJ teacher librarian.

Science Teacher Journals

Lesson Plans

Lesson Plans with an Indigenous Perspective

This guide provides suggestions for integrating Joanne Robertson's The Water Walker into several subject, including Science.  Check out the other Curriculum Bundles in this series for more recommendations on how to integrate Indigenous knowledge into the curriculum. The context is the BC K-12 Curriculum but you will find ideas that align with the Ontario K-12 currculum too.

Produced by Aboriginal Access to Engineering, this lesson plan aligns with the Grade 3 Science and Technology learning outcomes. Uses stories about Nanabush (Anishinaabe) and Glooscap (Mi'kmaq) as entry points.

Produced by Aboriginal Access to Engineering, this unit covers the Understanding Earth and Space Systems strand of the Grade 4 Ontario Science and Technology Curriculum, Rocks and Minerals.

Here you will find lesson plans and ideas developed by First Nations, Métis & Inuit Education Association of Ontario (FNMIEAO) and STAO.

Includes lessons for Primary, Junior and Intermediate grades on topics related to earth, water, and space.

Produced by the First Nations Education Steering Committee in BC, this resource is meant to support integration of Indigenous perspectives in science. Lesson ideas are included.

Unit 4 focuses on Connections to the Land.

"This Educational Bundle is a comprehensive First Nation teaching kit that will assist in providing easy to follow Ontario curriculum-based activities, web links, student worksheets and culturally relevant traditional knowledge of the Anishinaabe and Haudenosaunee peoples surrounding the Great Lakes in Ontario, Canada." Links to multidisciplinary curriculum outcomes particularly in the Arts, Literacy, and Science.

Ontario Curriculum

Available ONLINE and also IN PRINT on Floor 1, Ministry of Education Collection, Q 181.5.O58 S25 2022

Find Print Books

IN THE LIBRARY:

K-8 Science textbooks are mostly shelved at call number ! 161 in the School Textbooks Collection on Floor 1.

Teacher lesson plan ideas are shelved at call number LB 1585 in the Teaching Collection on Floor 2.

Children's science books are shelved in the call numbers for specific science topics, in the Children's Collection on Floor 1.

  • QB Astronomy
  • QC Physics
  • QD Chemistry
  • QE Geology
  • QH Biology
  • QL Zoology
  • QM Human anatomy
  • QP Physiology

Find eBooks

The access information you need is available from your Education Password Page. If you need a reminder of the password for the guide, just use your Queen's email address to email Brenda, your PJ teacher librarian.

TumbleBook Library

TumbleBooks Library contains fiction, non-fiction, and audio books plus videos.

Inquiry