Grade 2: Understanding Life Systems
Growth and Changes in Animals Science Kit.
Call Number: TBD
Covers the following:
Strand A: STEM Skills and Connections
Strand B: Growth and Changes in Animals
In this kit, students investigate the physical characteristics of animals, and how they grow and change through their lives. Animal locomotion will be explored, as well as the effects that animals have on human society, and vice versa. This kit provides materials for five activities.
Animals Grow
Animals Care for Mother Earth: A Teaching Resource for Personal Development by
Six contemporary, interrelated stories and supporting resources for teachers. In the first story, animals cooperate to clean up a polluted pond. In subsequent stories, they care for each other in the aftermath of the pollution problem, demonstrating strength of character and social responsibility. This book can be used in elementary schools to teach—through storytelling—the value of personal strengths and community supports while incorporating Tsimshian language and knowledge into classroom lessons. It also provides many opportunities to extend the learning to other curriculum areas, including science, math, reading, writing, social studies, and art.
Animal Diversity from AAAS ScienceNetLinks
This lesson guides students through an exploration of animal differences, similarities, and environmental adaptations.
Animal Adaptations from PBS LearningMedia
Teaching tips for teaching animal adaptations with PBS games and video clips. There are clips of teachers demonstrating how to teach certain concepts.
Black Bear Ecology from the Ministry of Natural Resources
A guide that focuses on black bears. Five lesson plans are included with worksheets and discussion questions.
Celebrating Winter: Animals from PBS Learning Media
A collection of lessons based on the life of various animals during the winter.
"A video that covers all the traits of mammals, fish, birds, amphibians, and reptiles. Various examples of each animal group are included, as well as fun facts about each group."
Science Models: Life Cycle of a Frog
Teacher Resource Room, Floor 1, QL 668 .E2 B66 2002. Includes foam pieces of the model, English and French notes, and an activity card. You can also check out Science Models: Life Cycle of a Butterfly.
Bear on the Train
Teacher Resource Room, Floor 1, PS 8573.A916 B42 1999. Story kit. Includes the book by Julie Lawson, 1 activity card, 1 bear mask. In a plastic bag.
Teacher Resource Room, Floor 1, QL 706.2 .M36 1993. Includes books, teacher guides, magazines, folders, and posters. You can also check out Amazing Worlds: Birds, Amazing Worlds: Insects, and Amazing Worlds: Amphibians, Reptiles, & Fish.
Information Books
Animal Hibernation by
Why do aquatic frogs spend the winter buried in mud? Why to garter snakes coil together in dens? Animals hibernate in some unique ways. Discover the amazing ways hibernating animals spend the winter.
Animal Homes (Animal Anatomy and Adaptations) by
Just like humans, animals use their homes for shelter and to raise their young. Animal homes might be easy to see, or they may be hidden (camouflaged) for protection. Some animals are great builders and other animals borrow homes that other animals have made. Different animals might just use natural places like caves or holes in trees to make a home. And some animals might even carry their home on their back! Sticks, mud, leaves, cotton, and grass are all things that animals might use to build a home. Whether by digging, spinning, building or borrowing, animal homes are as varied as the animals themselves. This is a perfect addition to Mary Holland's Animal Anatomy and Adaptations series.
Fiction
When Winter Comes by
Explains how the woodchuck, black bear, red fox, and Canadian goose cope with winter in the northern parts of North America.
The Salmon Run by
The Salmon Runfollows a salmon on his journey to return to the spawning grounds. Written and illuystrated by Clayton Gauthier, the debut book of talented artis and storyteller.
The Egg by 
Growing Frogs by 
Ladybugs by 
Sharing Our World: Animals of the Native Northwest Coast by
"The images and text in this book are the work of First Nations and Native artists from communities throughout the Pacific Northwest. Through their art and words, each artist has shared the importance of their personal and cultural relationship to the natural world". -- back cover
What Do You Do with a Tail Like This? by